Coast Resorts Open Roads Forum: 07 Dutchstar $98k..Scam? T or F ???
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > 07 Dutchstar $98k..Scam? T or F ???

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev
Niko

Crestview, Fl

New Member

Joined: 04/27/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/28/08 07:59am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have notified RVSearch and spoke to a "Roy" who informed me they would be pulling the ad immediately. Further, a friend of mine from Eglin AFB did a global search for the name "Scott Winget" and there is no such person located on Scott AFB in Illinois. The ad on RVSearch.com was placed by a "Kristie Winget" They would not give me any further info.

fourfurz

Memphis

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2008

View Profile



Posted: 04/28/08 09:59am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I first noticed this ad because I subscribe to the "Oodle Alers" for 2007 Newmar's. I've been watching pricing for these coaches as I'm interested in the value of my own coach and how it changes over time. When I saw that ad posted, I was concerned that it could be a scam, which is why I posted the original question.
(Oodle: http://www.oodle.com)

This type of scam is easy to pull off, especially to those who are uninformed. I suggest that other interested parties do the same thing as me, and watch their own particular make and year for the next ad, you know there will be one.

If we each watch for our own particular line and year, we'll cover a good part of the spectrum, plus it is fairly easy to do, just read your e-mail when a new ad comes online. The scam is obvious as the price is simply too good to believe.

Occasionally, a real deal may come up. We got our coach for about $50k below "low retail" in NADA, so good deals that are legit do exist. Our coach was on e-bay and had the VIN, so we were able to confirm ownership before doing anything. This scammer wouldn't provide the VIN, so that's a good sign of a scam.

If we can catch this jerk a few times, perhaps the money it costs to run an ad will eventually dissuade the scam and make him try something else.


2007 Mountain Aire 4528
2006 CRV SE
Based in Memphis area


spearharper

Northwest

Full Member

Joined: 11/13/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/28/08 10:31am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I played dumb with this guy for a couple e-mails. Finally called his bluff and asked why it was half the price of KBB. He sent an almost identical e-mail to me with the exception of some more blah ... when I called him an out right scammer and reported him to several of the places I saw the ad, he stopped playing with me. I noticed a few days later the ad was no longer on RYTrader but was on another web site selling RVs....


Lance & Laura
'96 Four Winds
30' Hurricane
Washington

“I didn't fail the test, I just found 100 ways to do it wrong”
-Benjamin Franklin


Larry Cohen

Mobile, AL

Senior Member

Joined: 04/23/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/29/08 05:57am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Im glad that my post saved a few folks some money...I have a vendetta against scammers..I have dealt with about 30 of them in my condo rental business..
I dont call them scammers.....THIEF is the nicest word I will use here...


2006 Mountain Aire 43
Short haired wife, long haired daschund and 3 sugar gliders are co-pilots, along with Garmin Nuvi 855
05 Honda Pilot with Air Force One supplemental brake
Blue Ox Aventa II towbar
Whirlpool Residential Fridge !!!


acker1

fulltimer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/20/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Online
Posted: 04/29/08 09:52pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I was visiting a friend today and he mentioned that he was flying out tomorrow to help someone check out a 'cheap' Discovery DP. I told him to check this thread and then 'google' 'Money-gram scams'. He did and called his friend immediately and the friend cancelled the money-gram. I was aware of these scams before but I was able to point him to this thread as I just read it the night before. Saved a bit of searching.
He called the number that he received in an email and the lady said it has been happening to her for about 2 weeks. Different MHs. Coincidentally around the same time her husband lost(?) his wallet.
Thanks
DICK


37'--'98 Endeavor
toad--'05 Crewcab GMC
Viet Vet '65, Ia Drang Valley survivor (We Were Soldiers)
Elks
www.4ezdaz.com Same site, different URL

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > 07 Dutchstar $98k..Scam? T or F ???
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2012 Coast Resorts | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS