Coast Resorts Open Roads Forum: 07 Dutchstar $98k..Scam? T or F ???
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > 07 Dutchstar $98k..Scam? T or F ???

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
RetiredArmy

Zephyrhills

Full Member

Joined: 03/21/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/26/08 07:29am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

From my signature you know I'm retired from the U Army. The only time I was ever restricted to base was back in the very early '60s. We were restricted because we were on ALERT for overseas movement. Like has been said by the US Marine members, you are only restricted by being in the stockade or on company punishment. Judging by the language, anyone can tell it was a scam because the individual did not have command of the English language. It's been said "if it seems to be to good to be true then it is. (this is a paraphrase). Happy trails.


Brenda and Larry - Retired
2001 RoadTrek 200 Versatile

fourfurz

Memphis

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2008

View Profile



Posted: 04/26/08 09:40am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

kjames90755 wrote:

I wonder if there's a penalty by the US Military for impersonating an enlistee or Officer? Do they go track down these goons?


As long as the person doing the impersonating is not in the US Military, then the military has no jurisdiction. Things may have changed since Homeland Security took over things, but I believe it would be a local police deal unless the perp crossed state lines, which would put it in the hands of the FBI.

Since this jerk is probably in Nigeria, there's nothing anyone can do about it but report the ad and get it pulled.


2007 Mountain Aire 4528
2006 CRV SE
Based in Memphis area


ColoRV

Denver

New Member

Joined: 08/14/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/26/08 06:55pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

He was trying to run the scam on an '04 Discovery in Monument, CO. Forum members need to put the alert out immediately for those who might not see the scam, particularly since rvsearch.com is part of the rv.net network.

emzee

california

Senior Member

Joined: 10/22/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/26/08 09:33pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I apologize...certainly I did NOT mean that part of it...

I for one didn't even dwell on that part of your post. thanks for sharing it with us. every bit of dangerous info is worth being alerted about.

Batcamper

Riverside, CA

New Member

Joined: 08/10/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/26/08 10:27pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Mr. Cohen: I just retired after serving 29 years in the USAF as a boom operator. The only restriction I can think of is confinement or correctional custody. Other than that, unless there is an alarm activation on the base (causing the base to be locked down), their is at least one gate open 24/7. Basically Larry, if it sounds to good to be true...well you know the rest! There are certain restrictions on how far you can travel from the base if you are on active duty and not on official military leave. You and I both know how important it is to support our military in peace and war and I truly believe you only refered to the military in jest.

Happy camping


2006 Fleetwood Expedition 38S
3 Slides
Cat C-7 300HP reprogrammed to 350HP

Niko

Crestview, Fl

New Member

Joined: 04/27/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/27/08 10:41pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I want you to know that your posting of the 07 Dutchstar $98k..Scam? T orF??? saved my wife and I from the jaws of a scam spewing monster. On Friday, 04/25/2008 @ approximately 8:32PM from a WalMart store in Crestview, Fl, we sent a Moneygram (payable to ME as per his instructionsd)to a location in Celina, OH as a deposit on that very same motor home mentioned in your post. We were to meet a man named Scott Winget in Celina, OH. Once we inspected the RV and found all as it should be, we were then to meet in front of a Notary and sign the deposit check over to him.On Saturday morning, a round 6:15am, my wife was browsing the internet looking for a floor plan of the motor home we would soon own. That's when she found your post. I was at the bakery getting breakfast and when I returned home, my wife showed me the post. We immediately contacted WalMart who then referred us to Moneygram. We were extremely fortunate that the money had not been collected and the full amount of the money was reversed to us. We picked it up about 40 minutes later from the local WalMart and put it back in our bank account.

I'm sure not often you receive word as to whether or not your posts have done someone good. In this case, we owe you a dept of gratitude for posting your article as it did save us a great deal of trouble. When I saw the wording of your post, the hairs on my neck prickeld because the wording contained in you post was IDENTICAL to the numerous emails communications we received. Again, thank you very much for your efforts

dereksgram

Las Vegas

New Member

Joined: 04/25/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/27/08 11:47pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Please tell me did you receive this letter???
We have our plane reservations for next week to meet this man in Olath,Mo we are flying into Kansas City and he is picking us up????
Please email me at dereksgram@aol.com if you can clarify this for us. We are seniors and can't believe it, we have been emailing him all month and he is selling us a 1998 Beaver!!!!
Please help us

fourfurz

Memphis

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2008

View Profile



Posted: 04/28/08 12:52am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dereksgram wrote:

Please tell me did you receive this letter???
We have our plane reservations for next week to meet this man in Olath,Mo we are flying into Kansas City and he is picking us up????
Please email me at dereksgram@aol.com if you can clarify this for us. We are seniors and can't believe it, we have been emailing him all month and he is selling us a 1998 Beaver!!!!
Please help us


I hope you are able to get your money back. It's probably already in the hands of some Nigerian scammer. At least cancel your plane reservation, nobody will be meeting you. Bummer.

Just remember, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

1492

No. Virginia

Senior Member

Joined: 04/08/2005

View Profile



Posted: 04/28/08 01:10am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Niko wrote:

I want you to know that your posting of the 07 Dutchstar $98k..Scam? T orF??? saved my wife and I from the jaws of a scam spewing monster. On Friday, 04/25/2008 @ approximately 8:32PM from a WalMart store in Crestview, Fl, we sent a Moneygram (payable to ME as per his instructionsd)to a location in Celina, OH as a deposit on that very same motor home mentioned in your post. We were to meet a man named Scott Winget in Celina, OH. Once we inspected the RV and found all as it should be, we were then to meet in front of a Notary and sign the deposit check over to him.On Saturday morning, a round 6:15am, my wife was browsing the internet looking for a floor plan of the motor home we would soon own. That's when she found your post. I was at the bakery getting breakfast and when I returned home, my wife showed me the post. We immediately contacted WalMart who then referred us to Moneygram. We were extremely fortunate that the money had not been collected and the full amount of the money was reversed to us. We picked it up about 40 minutes later from the local WalMart and put it back in our bank account.

I'm sure not often you receive word as to whether or not your posts have done someone good. In this case, we owe you a dept of gratitude for posting your article as it did save us a great deal of trouble. When I saw the wording of your post, the hairs on my neck prickeld because the wording contained in you post was IDENTICAL to the numerous emails communications we received. Again, thank you very much for your efforts

That's good to hear! Has anyone contacted RVSearch.com about this reported SCAM? The ad is still running here. RVTraderOnline pulled the same ad!

Jim & Joan

Milton, WI Lake Suzy, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 01/24/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/28/08 05:34am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I reported the listing as a scam





This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > 07 Dutchstar $98k..Scam? T or F ???
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2012 Coast Resorts | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS