Coast Resorts Open Roads Forum: Backup Cam not working on 37ft Class A
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > Backup Cam not working on 37ft Class A

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
NaViDa

Las Vegas, Nv

Full Member

Joined: 12/12/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/17/13 01:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi All,

I may be purchasing my 1st RV this week. Its a used Class A 1998 Holiday Rambler Endeavor, 37ft, 1 sideout. I want my own to continue living FullTime in, for I've been living in someone else's on his property for about 3 years now. The price has dropped from 19k to $15,777 in the last month or so of spotting it. Today, i took her for a test drive, she ran smoothly but there was one problem. The backup camera didn't come on. The salesmen is going to check it out but he said since they've dropped the price so low, if its not a fuse or simple repair they're not going to put anymore $ into. Its As Is, right? I really like her but i also need to have that backup camera operative when i take her 37ft body off the lot since I'll be doing this alone.

Any and All advice will be greatly appreciated.

Here's the link to her, tell me what you think?
http://www.rvt.com/dealerframe/sahararvdetail.php?id=5421288

TIA!

* This post was last edited 12/17/13 06:00am by NaViDa *   View edit history


Full Time, Tree Huggn, Vegan Athlete living on, a shovel of dirt shy of, an acre of land
2007 Toyota Prius
1998 Holiday Rambler Holiday Endeavor 35WGS

">Time waits for no one



Bumpyroad

Virginia

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/17/13 03:23am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If everything else is OK, and the price is OK, I wouldn't let having to replace a BU camera stop me. mine stopped working on my Chieftain and I was told that they have a habit of having the wires slip off connectors under the dash. never did figure out how to get at them before I traded it off.

bumpy





OhhWell

Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 06/27/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/17/13 05:52am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Have them drive it to the lot entrance and take it from there. Unless you have to back it up alone somewhere when you get home, it's not necessary during normal driving. Then just fix it as you can. The system is just power to the cam, signal wire from the cam to the monitor, power to the monitor and a switch sometimes to deactivate when in anything but reverse. On ours, the reverse-only thing can be overridden on the monitor.


1998 bounder 36s V10 F53

fcooper

St. Augustine, Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 09/23/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/17/13 06:04am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Agree that you can easily drive the coach without the backup camera working. If you have to back into a place when you get it home, you can get out and look several times.

That camera/monitor will probably be an Intec system like I removed from my Holiday Rambler when it died. If checking cable connections, fuses, power connections, etc. does not fix the problem, just plan on replacing it. Replacement cost if you do the work will be under $200.

When/if you get to that point, send me a private message with your email address and I'll email a word document showing the steps required to remove/replace the monitor/camera.

Fred


Fred & Vicki
St. Augustine, Florida

NaViDa

Las Vegas, Nv

Full Member

Joined: 12/12/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/17/13 06:06am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Here she is on the lot.
http://www.rvt.com/dealerframe/sahararvdetail.php?id=5421288

I feel as though I'm getting cold feet worrying about having a rig so big even though she didn't feel that way driving her. It's just when i get out and look back at her is when i'm slightly taken back by her size.

NaViDa

Las Vegas, Nv

Full Member

Joined: 12/12/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/17/13 06:08am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

fcooper wrote:

Agree that you can easily drive the coach without the backup camera working. If you have to back into a place when you get it home, you can get out and look several times.

That camera/monitor will probably be an Intec system like I removed from my Holiday Rambler when it died. If checking cable connections, fuses, power connections, etc. does not fix the problem, just plan on replacing it. Replacement cost if you do the work will be under $200.

When/if you get to that point, send me a private message with your email address and I'll email a word document showing the steps required to remove/replace the monitor/camera.

Fred


Okay, thank you!

OhhWell

Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 06/27/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/17/13 06:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

NaViDa wrote:

Here she is on the lot.
http://www.rvt.com/dealerframe/sahararvdetail.php?id=5421288

I feel as though I'm getting cold feet worrying about having a rig so big even though she didn't feel that way driving her. It's just when i get out and look back at her is when i'm slightly taken back by her size.


That backup camera does not look like it came from the factory. Is it routed to the TV in the center of the dash there or something?

fcooper

St. Augustine, Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 09/23/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/17/13 06:59am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The OP wrote "Its a used Class A 1998 Holiday Rambler Endeavor, 37ft, 1 sideout" but the link takes me to a 99 Thor Hurricane? Checked the dealer's inventory and there is no 1998 Holiday Rambler Endeavor listed. Am I missing something?
Fred

carp65

Sioux Falls, SD

Senior Member

Joined: 08/26/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 12/17/13 08:01am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Our camera has gone dead on a few occasions. Problem has always been a
loose connection in the rear of the dashboard screen. I can reach up
behind and check connections and after pushing on all the connections, the
camera again works. Evidently they work loose while driving.

wny_pat

Western NYS

Senior Member

Joined: 08/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/17/13 08:27am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

fcooper wrote:

The OP wrote "Its a used Class A 1998 Holiday Rambler Endeavor, 37ft, 1 sideout" but the link takes me to a 99 Thor Hurricane? Checked the dealer's inventory and there is no 1998 Holiday Rambler Endeavor listed. Am I missing something?
Fred

Glad you caught it too!!! Was beginning to think I was nuts.


“All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware.”

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > Backup Cam not working on 37ft Class A
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2017 CWI, Inc. © 2017 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS