Coast Resorts Open Roads Forum: Class C Motorhomes: Transfer switch on Class C
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes  >  Class C

 > Transfer switch on Class C

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
dennislanier

Northeast Georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 02/28/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/09/13 05:23pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just back from a very frustrating and abbreviated trip to the mountains of North Carolina. Yesterday I returned to my 2004 Jayco Granite Ridge Class C. It was very warm inside, so I turned on the AC and took a shower. Shortly after getting out of the shower, the power to the MH went completely out. I checked the usual suspects (power cord, GFCI, pedestal, breakers, etc). I smelled a burnt odor after coming back inside and started looking around.

Under the bed is where the converter, breaker panel, transfer switch live. I removed the cover to the transfer switch and found the source of the burnt odor. Three of the wires inside the switch were burned badly (insulation melted) etc.

After coming back home since no service was available at that location, I see some information about a recall of Iota ITS-50R transfer switch. Is anyone familiar with how this recall works, what it covers, etc. I will continue to research but any information anyone has about this would be much appreciated. Sorry for the long post.

j-d

Sunny Florida USA

Senior Member

Joined: 09/04/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/09/13 09:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

From the little I could glean:

1. IOTA seems to be out of the Transfer Switch Business

2. The Switch in questions seems to be 50-amp and with a Class C yours is probably 30-amp

3. Replacements seem to be being done by the RV builders not IOTA

Maybe somebody else has more on this.


If God's Your Co-Pilot Move Over, jd
2003 Jayco Escapade 31A on 2002 Ford E450 V10 4R100 218" WB

ronfisherman

SE Michigan

Moderator

Joined: 06/05/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 10/10/13 03:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The IOTA recall is for 50 amp transfer switch. Your Jayco probably has a 30 amp transfer switch.
I have seen many post on transfer switch failures. Most common is bad/loose connections. Your transfer switch may be OK. But needs new wires to repair burnt ones. If you are not familiar with electrical wiring. Have repairs done by a experienced tech that knows RV wiring repair it.


2004 Gulf Stream Endura 6340 D/A
TST tire pressure monitor system
2012 Chevy Captiva Toad

Super C Group Forum



dennislanier

Northeast Georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 02/28/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/10/13 07:20am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I plan to call Jayco this morning to see if they have any information on it. Also, the switch can be used for 50 amps, hence the model number ITS-50R. I am not familiar with electrical systems, so I will have it repaired by a pro whether it is covered by a recall or not. Thanks for the responses.

GrumpyandGrandma

Where ever Grandma tells me we're going.

Senior Member

Joined: 02/02/2004

View Profile






Posted: 10/10/13 08:12am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

There were some issues with the 30 amp units as well. It happened to my sister-in-law, but her's was an 08 Greyhawk

Ron, what I found is not only did the wiring "fry" but also the terminals. They actually broke away from the insulated mounting plate so the whole switch will probably need to be replaced.


Grandma in front of her retirement home..
She lets Grumpy drive!!


Bobbo

Wherever I park

Senior Member

Joined: 09/16/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/10/13 10:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My rig doesn't have a transfer switch, and after reading posts like this one, I am glad. Consider wiring the shore cord DIRECTLY to the wire that goes to your breaker box, and wire the cord coming from the generator to a 30amp outlet in an electrical box in the electrical compartment.

Whenever you unplug from the pedestal, immediately plug into the outlet in your RV. Simple and foolproof.


Bobbo, Linda and the furry kid (45 pound rescue)
2017 F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab 3.5l EcoBoost V6
2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB


Dakzuki

Carnation, Wa, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 11/01/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/10/13 01:02pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bobbo wrote:

My rig doesn't have a transfer switch, and after reading posts like this one, I am glad. Consider wiring the shore cord DIRECTLY to the wire that goes to your breaker box, and wire the cord coming from the generator to a 30amp outlet in an electrical box in the electrical compartment.

Whenever you unplug from the pedestal, immediately plug into the outlet in your RV. Simple and foolproof.


One brand of transfer switches has an issue so give up on them? It's kinda like giving up on cars because Yugos were lousy.


2011 Itasca Navion 24J
2000 Chev Tracker Toad


ronfisherman

SE Michigan

Moderator

Joined: 06/05/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 10/10/13 01:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

GrumpyandGrandma wrote:


Ron, what I found is not only did the wiring "fry" but also the terminals. They actually broke away from the insulated mounting plate so the whole switch will probably need to be replaced.

Not sure if I should be changing my IOTA's out. I have a 50 amp for the generator and 30 amp for the inverter. So far no problems. I always recommend that owners check these connections. Also check circuit breaker panels.

Bobbo

Wherever I park

Senior Member

Joined: 09/16/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/10/13 03:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Dakzuki wrote:

Bobbo wrote:

My rig doesn't have a transfer switch, and after reading posts like this one, I am glad. Consider wiring the shore cord DIRECTLY to the wire that goes to your breaker box, and wire the cord coming from the generator to a 30amp outlet in an electrical box in the electrical compartment.

Whenever you unplug from the pedestal, immediately plug into the outlet in your RV. Simple and foolproof.


One brand of transfer switches has an issue so give up on them? It's kinda like giving up on cars because Yugos were lousy.

No.

You occasionally see posts like this about all of the brands. I, personally, just consider them an unnecessary complication. Just my opinion, that everyone is entitled to. [emoticon]

mikebo

Maryland

Senior Member

Joined: 03/16/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/11/13 10:04am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Contact Jayco directly, I had a Jayco Melbourne with the same problem. It was out of warranty and they sent me a replacement. This was a little over a year ago. It was the 30 amp Iota transfer switch.


Mike

2016 Newmar Baystar Sport 3004
2010 CRV toad

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes  >  Class C

 > Transfer switch on Class C
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2017 CWI, Inc. © 2017 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS