Coast Resorts Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Analog TV converter boxes
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  General Topics

 > Analog TV converter boxes

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
jerseyjim

New Jersey

Senior Member

Joined: 09/02/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/23/13 07:51am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I agree with FRANKDAMP....Altho many think Canada is simply a suburb of the United States, Canada IS a different Country and does many things differently.
I think the CANADA coversion just might be different from the US conversion. Have you turned your TV back on since returning FROM Canada? (Last time I was in Canada, even the cell phones were different...I was advised to contact my cell phone carrier, pay a nominal fee...then I could use my American cell phone in Canada....or...pay as much as 7 bucks a minite.)
Suggestion: Unplug the converter. Let it sit for maybe 10-20 seconds, plug back in, reboot and then scan for channels.

* This post was edited 09/23/13 01:25pm by jerseyjim *

Tom_M

New Hope, MN

Senior Member

Joined: 04/24/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/23/13 05:58pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

From wikipedia:
Digital television in Canada (more specifically, digital terrestrial television in Canada or digital over-the-air television (OTA) in Canada) is transmitted using the ATSC standard. Because Canada and the U.S. use the same standard and frequencies for channels, people near the Canada–United States border can watch digital television programming from television stations in either country where available.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_television_in_Canada


Tom
2005 Born Free 24RB

MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 09/23/13 06:58pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

now explain to me
how taking a trip to Canada, would break their converters

IF they watched TV while their, the converters Obviously worked
they need to reset the channel scan now that they are back in the USA



jerseyjim wrote:

I agree with FRANKDAMP....Altho many think Canada is simply a suburb of the United States, Canada IS a different Country and does many things differently.
I think the CANADA coversion just might be different from the US conversion. Have you turned your TV back on since returning FROM Canada? (Last time I was in Canada, even the cell phones were different...I was advised to contact my cell phone carrier, pay a nominal fee...then I could use my American cell phone in Canada....or...pay as much as 7 bucks a minite.)
Suggestion: Unplug the converter. Let it sit for maybe 10-20 seconds, plug back in, reboot and then scan for channels.



Options, always have options, and the journey goes much smoother
....

Connected thru Verizon with HotSpot WiFi using a Samsung S4 and/or Novatel 2200 MiFi


MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 09/23/13 06:58pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

double post

BuckF

white lake, mi 48383

New Member

Joined: 10/26/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/24/13 04:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would like thank everyone for responding,but none of the above related to my problem. We suspect both converter boxes may have had a time limit on them. We are going to solve the problem by buying two HD wide screen TV's and be done with it. Thanks again.


Buck&Grace
2003 Airstream XL396
3126E Cat
Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland

BobR

Aurora, Illinois

Senior Member

Joined: 12/07/2001

View Profile



Posted: 09/24/13 05:19pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Turn the convertor box off. Some Canadian channels still broadcast in analog.

katoomer

Vancouver

Senior Member

Joined: 08/13/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/24/13 06:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Everyone thinks we are the quiet polite northern neighbour. In fact we are just preparing our
surveillance systems for the day in the very near future when we take control of the WORLD!


2009 Newmar Ventana 3942
2010 Pace Shadow 18ft
2010 KTM 450 XCW six days
2010 Can Am Outlander 650 XT
2009 Yamaha TTR125
1989 Douglas Skater 21' Twin 2.5s

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Online
Posted: 09/24/13 06:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

First to the comment "You set the TV to Cable not Air"

There are in fact several channel assignment schemes for cable, one for air, The AIR assignment (old analog days) is shared both sides of the border.

And in all cases Channel 3 is the same, be it cable, digital cable, different schems, or Antenna, channel 3 is the same.. So forget that one

That said. it is a logical suggestion

On the converters.. Unplug them for five minutes.. Then plug them back in

While you have them Turn them on THEN have the TV scan for channel 3 (Or manually set it to 3) NOTE that there are actually 3 of each channel (low/middle/high) so it might be best to scan if it does not lock in well

You should have the converter menu

Then try scanning

As I recall, Canada may not have fully gone digital yet... You MIGHT have set the analog bypass or manually bypassed the converters.. if you did that you will have to restore conversion.

But step one is to get the converter "Welcome" screen on the TV screen.

IF you are near St. Clair, MI.. I may be able to help you next week.. This week I'm kind of tied up here in the cardiac care ward dodging a heart attack. (Successfully it appears). (Well if it was not successful.. I'd not be typing now would I)


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


leomosley

Vancouver, BC

New Member

Joined: 05/28/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/24/13 07:02pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This thread is like watching the Twilight Zone. Obviously our Canadian Digital TV destroyed the converter boxes. The Canadian Cell phone system is also designed to disrupt US Cell phone service (roaming maybe?). You have got to be kidding!


Cheers
Leo

2011 Georgetown 300FWS

SCVJeff

Santa Clarita, CA.

Senior Member

Joined: 07/28/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/24/13 10:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yeah....
Canadians with their own TV system
Canadians destroying converter boxes
And now their taking over the world...

NO BEER FOR YOU! GO TO YOUR ROOMS...


Jeff - WA6EQU
'06 Itasca Meridian 34H, CAT C7/350


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  General Topics

 > Analog TV converter boxes
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2017 CWI, Inc. © 2017 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS